02/06/2023 07:30:37 AM
  • logo

Gold Queen's Beasts

  • Price - Low to High
  • Popularity
  • Recently Added
  • Price - Low to High
  • Price - High to Low
  • Weight Ascending
  • Weight Descending

Introduced in 2016, the British Royal Mint's Queen's Beasts series captures the rich history and tradition of the British monarchy.

The 10-design series continues to grow in popularity among worldwide bullion collectors, each seeking to collect all ten designs commemorated in .9999 fine gold.

The ten designs in the Queen's Beasts series represent the ten statues that stood guard at the Queen's coronation ceremony in 1953. Each six-foot statue–sculpted by James Woodford RA–represented a beast with ties to branches of the royal family's heritage.

Designs in this series include:

  • The Lion of England
  • The Griffin of Edward III
  • The Red Dragon of Wales
  • The Unicorn of Scotland
  • The Black Bull of Clarence
  • The Falcon of the Plantagenets
  • The Yale of Beaufort
  • The White Lion of Mortimer
  • The White Horse of Hanover
  • The White Greyhound of Richmond

The statues–symbolic of the Queen's ancestry–once lined the entrance to Westminster Abbey. Today, you can see stone replicas standing watch in Kew Gardens in the UK.

While the beasts are featured on the coins' reverse, the obverse displays the fifth portrait of Her Majesty to grace British coinage during her historically long reign. Each coin is struck in .9999 fine gold and is eligible for most precious metals IRA accounts.

As one of the world's oldest sovereign mints, the British Royal Mint has earned a reputation for producing high quality bullion products. You might also enjoy the Gold Britannia series, which is the mint's flagship series.